Connecticut High School Coaches Association's annual $1000.00 scholar/athlete scholarships.

To be awarded each May at the Connecticut High School Coaches Association Coach of the Year banquet at the Aqua Turf Club in Southington.

ELIGIBILITY: Any male or female athlete from a Connecticut high school that is presented by his or her high school principal and
a. earned at least one varsity athletic letter.
b. have achieved a minimum of 3.0 academic average.
c. have demonstrated exemplary citizenship and leadership.

HOW MANY:  The number of $1,000.00 scholarships given each year will be dictated by the number of sponsors acquired within each year before December 1 of any given school year. There will be at least three boys and three girls selected each year.


  1. Each high school in Connecticut may nominate its highest ranking male and female scholar athlete.
  2. The Connecticut High School Coaches Association scholarship committee will screen all applications during January and February each year bringing the best 40 applications to the final selection committee.
  3. A committee of non-coaching professionals from throughout Connecticut, who are not members of the Connecticut High School Coaches Association will determine the scholarship recipients.

Scholarship Timeline

1. Second Monday in October all nominating forms will be sent to principals.

2. All applications must be returned by the third Monday in January.  

3. First week in April, the principals of the schools where the winners attend will be notified.

4. Second week in April the winner and parents will be officially notified.

5. Third week in April press releases will be sent out

6. Official ceremony will take place at the "Outstanding Coaches Dinner” held at the Aqua Turf Club in  May.

Team of the Year

2008-2009: Gymnastics Fitch/Waterford
2008-2009: Wrestling: Danbury

Boys Track & Field: Notre Dame HS, West Haven
Girls Track & Field: Danbury HS
Softball: Waterford HS
Boys Basketball: Stratford HS
Girls Basketball: Hillhouse HS
Boys Soccer: Staples HS
Boys Cross Country: Xavier HS
Girls Cross Country: Guilford HS
Girls Swimming: Greenwich HS
Field Hockey: Darien HS
Wrestling: Danbury HS
Gymnastics: New Milford HS
Cheerleading: Wolcott HS
Boys Hockey: Guilford HS
Boys Swimming: Pomperaug HS
Boys Lacrosse: Cheshire HS
Baseball: Pomperaug HS
Girls Soccer: St. Joseph HS

Boys Track & Field: Danbury HS
Girls Track & Field: Hillhouse HS
Softball: Nathan Hale Ray HS
Boys Basketball: New London HS
Girls Basketball: Hillhouse HS
Boys Soccer: Farmington HS
Girls Soccer: Suffield HS
Boys Cross Country: Tolland HS
Girls Cross Country: Glastonbury HS
Girls Swimming: Greenwich HS
Field Hockey: Darien HS
Wrestling: Bacon Academy HS
Gymnastics: Glastonbury HS
Cheerleading: Danbury HS
Boys Hockey: Watertown/Pomperaug HS
Boys Swimming: Greenwich HS
Boys Lacrosse: Darien HS
Baseball: East Hampton HS
Football: Xavier HS

Boys Track & Field: Windsor HS
Girls Track & Field: Bloomfield HS
Softball: Rockville HS
Boys Basketball: St. Joseph HS
Girls Basketball: Newtown HS
Boys Soccer LL/L: Bunnell HS
Boys Soccer M/S: Suffield HS
Girls Soccer: Northwest Catholic HS
Boys Cross Country: Fairfield Prep HS
Girls Cross Country: Ridgefield HS
Girls Swimming: Greenwich HS
Field Hockey: Cheshire HS
Wrestling: Xavier HS
Gymnastics: Woodstock Academy HS
Cheerleading: Wolcott HS
Boys Hockey: Trumbull HS
Boys Swimming: Fairfield Prep HS
Boys Lacrosse: Fairfield Prep HS
Girls Lacrosse: New Canaan HS
Baseball: Shelton HS
Football: Xavier HS
Girls Track & Field: Bloomfield HS
Boys Track & Field: Windsor HS

CHSCA #1 Team of the Year

2009-2010 Boys Track & Field, Notre Dame High School, West Haven
2009-2010 Girls Swimming, Greenwich High School

2010-2011 Boys Soccer, Farmington High School
2010-2011 Girls Soccer, Suffield High School

2011-2012 Boys Football, Xavier High School
2011-2012 Girls Track, Bloomfield High School

How Chosen

Starting with the 2009-2010 school year, the sports committees have chosen a #1 team in their sport for that year in both boys and girls sports. The award is given to the school at their All-State Sports banquet. It is the hope of the CHSCA executive board that the sports committees do not look at newspaper polls to select the #1 team. As each sports year has gone forward, more sports have honored a #1 team. The criteria are as follows:

1.    A #1 Girls and a #1 Boys sports team will be chosen at the end of the school year.
2.    A detailed form will be given to each head coach to fill out at the end of the season.
3.    All applications must be signed by the Head Coach and Athletic Director or Principal of the school.
4.    Only CHSCA #1 teams of that sport can participate. Although a newspaper ranked #1 team could be the same only the previously mentioned selected teams can take part in this process.
5.    A non-coaching committee chaired by a CHSCA representative will meet and evaluate all the criteria on each #1 team. This meeting will take place sometime following the spring season and before the start of the next school year.
6.    The award-winning schools will be honored at our Hall of Fame banquet held in November of the following school year. The winning schools will be given a large #1 trophy signifying their honor as “The #1 Team”  for boys and girls sports from the preceding year.
7.    A plaque with the school’s name and year honored will be placed in our room of honor at our Hall of Fame at Rentschler Field.
8.    Award pictures will be posted on our website for the next year.